Reviewing global changes for local page

  Written by The Jahia Team
 
Marketers
   Estimated reading time:

Reviewing global changes for a local page

When a global page is updated and the changes synchronize locally, you review the changes for your local site. For each change, you can choose whether to accept, translate, or detach the change. When you detach a change, you separate the local content from the content on the global site.  

LSM-review-changes.png

Changes are listed in the banner at the top of the page by:

  • Additions to review
  • Deletions to review
  • Moves to review
  • Modifications to review
  • Content to translate. This is the content that is synchronized with the global site and that requires a translation for the local page. Content to translate includes all translations that must be performed for the local page, regardless to the language that you have selected. 

For each type of change, a number indicates how many changes are outstanding.

Note: Some changes can only be synchronized in List view. In this case, To review in List displays when you are In context view. For example, you must synchronize changes to tags, categories and vanity URLs in List view.

You can view changes made to a local page in a list or visually on the page. You can toggle between list and page view by clicking List or In context.

The following example shows sample changes for review in a list.

image9.png

At the top of the page, you can click on the globe button 

image6.png
to open the global page in preview mode. You can use the preview mode to see the content on the global page that you are synchronizing from.

To edit changes to a local page:

  1. In Digital Experience Manager, open a local page with synchronized changes in edit mode.
    Changes display in the banner at the top of the Review Changes page.
  2. To accept or reject changes in a list, select List. Hover over the row containing the change and do any of the following:
    • To synchronize an addition, move, or modification to the local site, click the synchronize button. To synchronize a deletion, click the delete 
      image10.png
      button. Then, click Confirm in the Synchronize dialog.
    • To detach an addition, deletion, move, or modification from the global site, click the detach button 
      image2.png
       . Then, click Confirm in the Detach from the global dialog.
    • To accept a translation, click the translate button 
      image2.png
      to open the translated page.
    • To detach the translation, click the detach button 
      image2.png
      . Then, click Confirm in the Detach from global dialog.
  3. To accept or reject changes visually on the page, select In context. Navigate to a change and choose to synchronize or detach the change.
    • To synchronize an addition, move, or modification to the local site, click Synch all changes. To synchronize a deletion, click Delete. Then, click Confirm in the Synchronize dialog.
    • To detach an addition, deletion, move, or modification from the global site, click Detach from global. Then, click Confirm in the Detach from global dialog.
    • To accept a translation, click the Translate to open the translate page.
    • To detach the translation, click Detach from global. Then, click Confirm in the Detach from global dialog.
  4. To view the changed page, click In context and click the refresh button 
    image7.png
    .

You have reviewed changes on the local page.

Translating content

When content is synchronized, Local Site Manager also displays new content that requires translation or existing content that requires translation updates. Click Translate to open the translate page. 

Detaching pages and content

You can detach any localized page or localized content. You can use detach when you want to edit content, rather than edit or update a translation. 

Note: You cannot reattach a detached page or detached content.

To detach a localized page:

  • In edit mode, right-click on the page and click Detach from global.
  • In Local Site Manager, open the section where your page is localized, locate the page that you want to detach. Then, click Detach

To detach content that is not synchronized:

  • In edit mode, find the LSM  click LSM at the top right of the page to open the review changes panel. Locate your content in the list view or in context. Then, click Detach from global.
  • In Local Site Manager, select a page and open the review changes panel. Locate your content in the list view or in context. Then, click Detach from global.

To detach any localized content:

  • In edit mode, right-click on the localized content and click Detach from global.