Deleting content and files

  Written by The Jahia Team
 
Marketers
   Estimated reading time:

You can delete content that you no longer require. You can delete individual content items and delete entire folders. Before you delete content, you must first mark it for deletion. If the content has never been published, you can delete the content permanently from the system. Otherwise, you must publish the deletion to delete the content.

Important: When you delete content, it is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. If you simply want content to no be longer visible online, then consider unpublishing the content instead of deleting it.
Unpublished content is still editable in its staging version. Remember to unpublish the content in the desired language if your content exists in several languages. You can also unpublish a content item so that it is no longer visible online for a selected language.
Important: Deleting content in one language also deletes the content in any other languages in which it exists.

Marking content for deletion

Before deleting content, you must first mark it for deletion.

To mark content for deletion:

  1. In jContent, click Content Folders in the left pane.
  2. Navigate to the folder that contains content that you want to delete.
  3. Open the context menu of the content or folder and select Delete
    A confirmation window displays if the content is in use in a site or referenced by other content.
  4. Click Yes in the Delete Selection dialog.
    A lock icon displays beside the content item in the list.

Deleting an unpublished content item or folder

Before deleting content, you must first mark the content for deletion.

To delete an unpublished content item or folder:

  1. Ensure that you have marked the content item for deletion.
  2. Open the context menu of the content item or folder and select Delete (permanently).
    This menu entry is also available in the More options button in the preview pane.
  3. Click Yes in the Delete Selection dialog.
Note: Content marked for deletion which has never been published will also be permanently deleted if it is part of a publication process. For example, content marked for deletion is deleted if its parent folder is published.

Deleting published content

Content that you mark for deletion is permanently deleted when you publish it. Therefore, you must start the publication of a content item marked for deletion to permanently delete its live version.

Note: Content is considered to be published if it has been published and unpublished in the past.

To delete published content:

  1. Ensure that you have marked the content item for deletion.
  2. Open the context menu of the item or folder and select Publish deletion.
    The Publication dashboard page displays.
    Note: You can also access Publish deletion when you preview an item.
  3. To verify the contents of the publication and to avoid publishing undesired modifications, click Publication infos and review your changes.
  4. Depending on your role, you can either:
    • Publish the content yourself by clicking Publish.
    • Request publication by clicking Request publication to start a publication workflow. For information on completing the publication workflow, see Validating a publication request.
Important: When you or another user publishes the content, it is permanently deleted from the system.