System maintenance

  Written by The Jahia Team
 
Sysadmins
   Estimated reading time:

The system maintenance modes can be enabled/disabled by using the following URL:

http://{servername}{:port}{/context}/modules/tools/maintenance.jsp

1 Maintenance mode

When the maintenance mode is activated, the server blocks all the requests but the ones to the tools area. This means that the webprojects are not accessible in live or edit mode, the edit mode, contribute mode and administration access are also blocked. Jobs/rules/events can still be triggered and operate modifications on the contents/DB/file system.

This only applies to the server/cluster node for which the maintenance mode is activated, therefore you might need to repeat the operations on all cluster nodes.

Please note that if you switch the maintenance mode flag, the changes are only valid during server runtime and are not persisted between server restarts.
If you would like to persist the flag value, set the maintenanceMode property to true in the jahia.properties file:

maintenanceMode = true

The maintenance mode can be turned on a DX server also by directly calling the following URL (with Jahia Tools user credentials):

http://{servername}{:port}{/context}/modules/tools/maintenance.jsp?maintenance=true

And deactivated by using false as a parameter value.

2 Read-only mode

When the read-only mode is activated, the server blocks the requests to the edit/contribute/studio/administration modes. This means that the webprojects are still accessible in live, whereas the edit mode, contribute mode and administration access are blocked. Jobs/rules/events can still be triggered and operate modifications on the contents/DB/file system.
This only applies to the server/cluster node for which the read-only mode is activated, therefore you might need to repeat the operations on all cluster nodes.
The read-only mode is usually used in cluster environments to prevent the access to the edition interfaces on the browsing nodes.
Please note that if you switch the read-only mode flag, the changes are only valid during server runtime and are not persisted between server restarts.
If you would like to persist the flag value, set the maintenanceMode property to true in the jahia.properties file:

readOnlyMode= true

The read only mode can be turned on a DX server also by directly calling the following URL (with Jahia Tools user credentials):

http://{servername}{:port}{/context}/modules/tools/maintenance.jsp?readOnlyMode=true

And deactivated by using false as a parameter value.

3 Full read-only mode

The full read-only mode is an extended version of the read-only mode, as the edit/contribute/studio/administration modes are not accessible, as well as the user dashboards. But once the full read-only mode is activated, most of the writing operations are blocked, preventing everyone (including job, rules, events) to modify the jcr/database/filesystem. Creation of user generated contents will also fail, with no proper error message to the user. Please consult the techwiki to properly disable the creation of UGC when the full read-only mode is activated.
The logs are still being written on the file system when the full read-only mode is activated.
This only applies to the server/cluster node for which the full read-only mode is activated, therefore you might need to repeat the operations on all cluster nodes.
The full read-only mode is intended for hot backups of the environment, while the live versions of the webprojects are accessible to the visitors. Please consult our documentation regarding the backup and restoration of an environment. It is advised to activate the full read-only mode on the processing node first, and to end with the non-processing ones.
The full read only mode can be turned on a DX server also by directly calling the following URL (with Jahia Tools user credentials):

http://{servername}{:port}{/context}/modules/tools/maintenance.jsp?fullReadOnlyMode=true

And deactivated by using false as a parameter value.

Important
Activating the full read-only mode is a synchronous operation, which may take some time to be completed. The access to the different modes will be immediately blocked, but DX will wait for the current ongoing writing operations to be fully finished before completely switching to full read-only mode. In other words, if several publications have been triggered just before turning the full read-only mode on, then DX will wait for the current publication job being executed to be completed, before returning. The other publication jobs will be started once the full read-only mode will be turned off.

Limitations and advice

  • Already connected users will not be logged out, even if they were in edit mode: the content creation or modification operations will fail
  • An error message will be displayed when trying to access edit/contribute/administration interfaces when the full read-only mode is activated

Therefore, we advise you to notify all the potential contributors that server maintenance operations will be performed, blocking the access to the edition interfaces, as well as failing all the attempts to create or update contents (in the case of a contributor being already connected when the full read-only mode is turned on).

  • The REST API is still capable of content queries
  • Do not activate the full read-only mode when contribution is expected to happen, especially when “heavy” contribution operations are happening, such as site import, as it will result in an incomplete operation/import
  • Do not perform module management operations (deploy, start, stop, update, install new versions of modules) when the full read-only mode is activated on at least a cluster node. Prefer the maintenance or read-only mode in such cases.
  • Do not add a new node to the cluster when at least one node is in full read-only mode (as some module management operations can be automatically executed during the new node startup)
  • In a remote publication environment, the authoring server in full read-only mode will not trigger scheduled remote publications. If a remote publication is sent to a remote server in full read-only mode, the execution of this remote publication will fail.

For switching to the full read-only mode we recommend:

  • Switch to readonly mode when there is not much traffic on the cluster nodes
  • Always switch all cluster nodes to full read-only mode - do not keep some nodes in full read-only and others not.
  • Choose a timeslot where there are no (minimum) edits going on, since editors can lose their changes (and inform your editors about this)
  • Choose a timeslot where there are no (minimum) scheduled jobs (like visibility conditions, publications, exports/imports, cleanup jobs etc.)